Wednesday, 16. May 2007

New Book: Beyond the Desktop Metaphor - Designing Integrated Digital Work Environments

Mary Czerwinsky and Victor Kaptelinin have edited a book about future desktop metaphors.
More you can find out via the cover at rickbs website

Here is what they say themselves, copy-pasted from the first chapter:

The objective of this book is to present and discuss new approaches to designing next-generation digital work environments. Currently the most pervasive computer systems, such as Microsoft Windows and Mac OS, are based on the desktop metaphor. For many users and designers, these are the only digital work environments they have ever known. It is all too easy to assume that the desktop metaphor will always determine our experience of computer systems. The present book challenges this assumption. Its point of departure is an understanding that desktop systems as we know them may well represent a temporary—if hugely successful—phase in the development of interactive environments. Future systems may further develop, modify, or even abandon the metaphor.

I can only add: for me, the Semantic Desktop is only the first step needed towards cyberspace! Lets make new metaphors! (as blogged before one two three times)

If you like Semantic Desktop, think about buying this book. For me, the reasons are threefold:
  • First, I chatted with Mary Czerwinsky over a cup of coffe in Kaiserslautern, back in January 2005 and she said she is preparing a book on future desktop metaphors - aha! Nifty I am, I added a todo to my organizer to remind me a year later if the book is there - it was not, but I moved the todo to remind me in another year...
  • Second, I recently tried to find out more about Richard Boardman, who is my secret hero for completing a PhD (btw: how could anyone ever ever finish a PhD?), and he blogged about the book, because he is in it. Reading his blog, it hit me: that is the book.
  • Third, because my clever Diploma Thesis student Danish Nadeem has found the book and recommended it to me. That was another reminder saying: you should buy this book NOW
So, I had a todo-item in my organizer saying "buy the future desktop metaphors book from Mary", which I today, after 17 months, can close. Three cheers to Mary Czerwinsky and Victor Kaptelinin for making it! Thanks for Danish to remind me.
QR barcode by i-nigma.com/CreateBarcodes
tyuityu (guest) - 28. Jul, 12:06

wertwer

buy the future desktop metaphors book from Mary

leobard - 8. Aug, 09:27

I did

after I blogged this.

Now you have to buy "Keeping found things found" from William Jones, it looks sexy and is by a pro.
John (guest) - 6. Sep, 15:00

book

The screw as we know it was invented in the 5th century BC, I think it is time we modernize a perfectly working piece of kit based on a well understood metaphor just because is 2008.

Come on people, wake up! there is nothing bad with the current desktop metaphor/concept, what is wrong is the massive clutter KDE 3.5 has in some areas, or the stupid over-simplicity of Gnome in others.

lam - 21. Jul, 07:58

Good!

Hello.I am well into a boring sunday thanks for giving something to think about.This is a great story got me thinking,Thanks!.Dollar Items

alton100 - 28. Jan, 10:05

I used to be more than happy to seek out this internet-site.I wanted to thanks in your time for this glorious read!! I positively enjoying each little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you weblog post
leather trench coats for women ::::: boys leather bomber jacket ::::: flight jackets for men ::::: military flight jackets ::::: cheap bomber jackets ::::: suede bomber jacket ::::: ww2 bomber jacket ::::: a2 bomber jacket :::::

Trackback URL:
https://leobard.twoday.net/stories/3737303/modTrackback

icon

semantic weltbild 2.0

Building the Semantic Web is easier together

and then...

foaf explorer
foaf

Geo Visitors Map
I am a hard bloggin' scientist. Read the Manifesto.
www.flickr.com
lebard's photos More of lebard's photos
Skype Me™!

Search

 

Users Status

You are not logged in.

I support

Wikipedia Affiliate Button

Archive

May 2007
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
 
 
 1 
 2 
 3 
 4 
 5 
 6 
 7 
 8 
 9 
10
12
13
14
15
17
19
20
22
24
25
27
28
30
 
 
 

Credits


austriaca
Chucknorrism
digitalcouch
gnowsis
Jesus
NeueHeimat
route planning
SemWeb
travel
zoot
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog