Tuesday, 1. February 2011

Learning Farmville, Learning Game Psychology

As all Farmville-Lovers in my neighbourhood already know (because Farmville makes sure you socialize) - I am evaluating the great game Farmville now.

farmvilleTo learn how to get rid of it, once I want to in the future, I googled for "Quit Farmville". Amanda Farrell posted some 10 rules there about how to quit. Quite interestingly, I already found the game mechanics to be seducing, and I reacted by looking for stuff that grows for many days and has a good return-of-invest (like peach trees...).

Amanda has similar observations, but it seems I found the keys after 60 minutes of gametime. Well, of course some years of real-time strategy gaming may help to learn a game.

And most important: this whole experiment reminds me a lot of my Ultima Online addiction which I nourished sometimes around 1997-2000 while I studied Information Science. Quitting Ultima was an amazing experience. Amanda's blog post contains the same strategies I found back then for myself: learn the effectiveness of the game and the motivation and use it in the real world.

going back to help Ingrid's farm...for science and to spend quality time on the couch together.
QR barcode by i-nigma.com/CreateBarcodes
netbrainiac - 20. Feb, 02:14

Farmville

This is a great post about the psychology behind farmville. This will improve my game play. Thanks. Piracetam

Roberdro - 1. Mar, 06:59

Farmville get many people crazy and addictive to it so I think the game inventor should make some adjustment to the anti-addition system. Imitation Sac

StevenJ - 3. Mar, 03:59

You are right! We should learn the effectiveness of the game and the motivation and use it in the real world. replica bolsos

Fernandro - 3. Mar, 11:00

Interesting game

Good game to cultivate the kids' patience and business planning. But it should be well regulated by the parents; otherwise, it's easy to get indulged. Réplique Montres

rockyhenry - 22. Mar, 06:27

It is so lucky to read your blog,it is full of useful message.I wish we both can do better in the future.It great honor if you can visit our website,and give us some suggestion.640-802 answers
642-813 answers
350-001 answers
VCP-410 answers
70-680 answers
70-640 answers

Trackback URL:
https://leobard.twoday.net/stories/11890111/modTrackback

icon

semantic weltbild 2.0

Building the Semantic Web is easier together

and then...

foaf explorer
foaf

Geo Visitors Map
I am a hard bloggin' scientist. Read the Manifesto.
www.flickr.com
lebard's photos More of lebard's photos
Skype Me™!

Search

 

Users Status

You are not logged in.

I support

Wikipedia Affiliate Button

Archive

February 2011
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
 
 
 2 
 3 
 4 
 5 
 6 
 7 
 9 
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
 
 
 
 
 

Credits


austriaca
Chucknorrism
digitalcouch
gnowsis
Jesus
NeueHeimat
route planning
SemWeb
travel
zoot
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog