Wednesday, 6. October 2010

resetting windows 7 file permissions for bliss

Weird errors when copying files? Do svn commits not work anymore? "Unable to move file"? I am using Windows 7 and NTFS, and my filesystem is quite weird. I copied my files from another windows machine using cygwin and rsync and this (-a) tried to preserve as much security details as possible. In the end, it fucked up my NTFS permissions in most folders with permissions for some {9898234234-234234234-23423432} users or "none".

Anyway, there are plenty of ways how you can fuck up Windows file permissions. All I wished was my folders to NOT have any permissions BUT the inherited permissions from the parent folder. Btw, this is where ext2 really sucks for me, that you can't have inheritance in the user:group and access rights. I often wished that when setting up shared folders for samba. I wanted to reset the permissions to the default access rights any folder in my Windows documents directory has. Looking at the zillions-of-popup-windows-on-top-of-each-other-unintuitive-user-interface to change file permissions, I googled for help. And, luckily, found the command line to reset windows NTFS file permissions of a folder to that of the parent folder:

icacls your_bad_folder /reset /t

use this command inside the parent-folder, the your_bad_folder is the folder giving you trouble.
QR barcode by i-nigma.com/CreateBarcodes
jonz - 8. Mar, 19:40

Great festival!

Great news I must say! College students will be very happy!
Indian tops

Fernandro - 15. Mar, 12:00

May I pay continual attention to U?

I am a 100% advocate of the new feature. replica orologi prezzi

wedding98 - 25. Mar, 15:31

Great stuff here.

Great stuff here. The information and the detail were just perfect. I think that your perspective is deep, its just well thought out and really fantastic to see someone who knows how to put these thoughts down so well. Great job on this.app ideas

Trackback URL:
https://leobard.twoday.net/stories/8378494/modTrackback

icon

semantic weltbild 2.0

Building the Semantic Web is easier together

and then...

foaf explorer
foaf

Geo Visitors Map
I am a hard bloggin' scientist. Read the Manifesto.
www.flickr.com
lebard's photos More of lebard's photos
Skype Me™!

Search

 

Users Status

You are not logged in.

I support

Wikipedia Affiliate Button

Archive

October 2010
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
 
 
 
 
 
 1 
 2 
 3 
 5 
 8 
 9 
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Credits


austriaca
Chucknorrism
digitalcouch
gnowsis
Jesus
NeueHeimat
route planning
SemWeb
travel
zoot
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog