Friday, 26. January 2007

Semantic Desktop Article in "Technology Review"

The word is out there - the german "Technology Review" magazine, a partner of MIT's technology review, has published an article about the semantic desktop and myself in its februar issue.

logo of technology review

If you happen to be in a german-speaking country like Germany, Austria or Switzerland, go to a good bookstore and buy the february 2007 issue. The article sums up my idea of a Semantic Desktop very good, and they also have nice articles on the future of food. The keypoint is, that Semantic Web is a good idea, and Semantic Desktop can help start it.

Gordon Bolduan interviewed me, and I will publish a photo of him interviewing me (which I made) later in February - because I am going on holiday now! see the next post for more...
QR barcode by i-nigma.com/CreateBarcodes
Brian (guest) - 26. Jan, 21:26

English Translation

Any possibility of getting an English version?

carmen (guest) - 27. Jan, 09:01

does the MIT-press bookstore have the german edition on hand?
leobard - 9. Feb, 23:07

english translation...

Hi Brian, I don't know if the english version of the TP is copying articles from the german one. I can translate it myself, although I have to check with the magazine if this is ok.
chain saw (guest) - 10. Sep, 04:59

english translation

Any word on whether you'll be able to post an english translation?? I searched for you on the English Technology Press web site but couldn't find anything so I don't think they translated it. I don't see why they would have a problem with you doing that. Unless they don't want people to read their articles. Anyway, even if you can't then just give me the link and I will do it myself with a translator program that I have on my computer. I'd really like to read the article and see what they have to say. I'm just barely delving into the idea of the semantic web and it's hard when all of the articles are in one of the languages I don't speak. Give me Italian, give me Arabic. Heck, give me Czech. But not German. Anyway, if you don't still have the link can you give me a brief synopsis of the ideas that were coming out of that interview? I'd like to know what I'm missing by not speaking fluent German or knowing quite how to read.

leobard - 11. Sep, 09:46

german article version

the german article version is buy-it-in-print only, there is no link to it.

Contact me via e-mail to leo.sauermann-dfki.de and I can help you get it. I will forward these comments to the original article's author, to know more what TR could do.

I don't get the relation between you and the url you left (factory....), so I cannot reach you.
leobard - 21. Sep, 11:03

no english translation

folks, I contacted the author of the German Article on Semantic Desktop, Gordon Bolduan who works at Technology Review. He said that the english TR has published an article on web 3.0/semantic web shortly before the semantic desktop article, and therefore their need for semantic web related stories was fulfilled for the moment.
Technology Review does not publish their articles online, so I also can't put a version on the web.

that said: guys, make a semantic web application that rocks so hard that it breaks news.

Trackback URL:
https://leobard.twoday.net/stories/3240147/modTrackback

icon

semantic weltbild 2.0

Building the Semantic Web is easier together

and then...

foaf explorer
foaf

Geo Visitors Map
I am a hard bloggin' scientist. Read the Manifesto.
www.flickr.com
lebard's photos More of lebard's photos
Skype Me™!

Search

 

Users Status

You are not logged in.

I support

Wikipedia Affiliate Button

Archive

January 2007
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
 
 1 
 3 
 8 
 9 
11
12
14
15
16
18
19
20
21
23
25
27
28
29
31
 
 
 
 

Credits


austriaca
Chucknorrism
digitalcouch
gnowsis
Jesus
NeueHeimat
route planning
SemWeb
travel
zoot
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog